Hibernian Hotel JAHC: Dromina storm to victory


Dromina 4-19
Shanballymore 1-9

Dromina got their Hibernian Hotel JAHC off to a winning start when they were easy winners over Shanballymore at Ballyclough on Sunday evening.

It was a very poor display by ‘Shanbally’ their worst since going into the JAHC in the mid 90s. Dromina were quick to get on top. They impressed in the half backline and midfield sectors and their attack in regular supply took some very good scores.

Brian Buckley opened with a first minute point. Jamie Sheedy levelled from a free. Kieran Cagney followed soon after. David Jones pointed after good play by Brian Buckley and Conor Shanahan.

The winners had a goal by Brian Buckley. Darragh Palmer worked well for Robert McHugh who pointed. Jamie Sheedy had another pointed free for Shanballymore. Dromina added points by Brian Buckley, Diarmuid Buckley, David Jones and Richard Morrissey as they led 1-7 to 0-4 at the water break.

On the restart Dromina had an early goal when Diarmuid Buckley’s effort was saved by Stephen Donegan with Richard Morrissey on hand to goal from the rebound. Luke Morrissey won possession from the puckout and pointed with David Jones adding a free 2-9 to 0-4. Miceál Burke pointed for ‘Shanbally’ with Darragh Palmer with a late point cutting the lead at half time 2-10 to 0-6.

Dromina took control in the second half. Both sides exchanged two early points before the winners had their third goal 3-13 to 0-8. Diarmuid Buckley with a good point had Dromina 3-14 to 0-8 clear at the water break.

Eoin Finn goaled on the restart after good play by Kieran Aherne and Luke Morrissey. There was no way back for Shanballymore who had just two more scores a goal by Eoin O’Regan and a Jamie Sheedy pointed free. In the end Dromina were victors by 4-19 to 1-9.
Shanballymore will now need wins over Ballyhooly and Liscarroll/Churchtown Gaels if they are to qualify for the knock-out stages.

DROMINA: K O’Callaghan, B Naughton, G Hayes, J Brennan, J Jordan, C Shanahan, P Hassett, B Buckley 1-5, B O’Connor, D Jones 1-5 (0-2f), D Buckley 0-2, M Buckley, K Cagney 0-1, R Morrissey 1-2, K Aherne Subs: L Morrissey 0-3 for M Buckley, E Finn 1-1 for R Morrissey, R O’Keeffe for D Buckley, P O’Connell for J Brennan
SHANBALLYMORE: S Donegan, P Fitzgerald, B Sheedy, R Hallahan, R McHugh 0-1, J Fitzgerald, E McHugh, D Palmer 0-1, B Butler, M Burke 0-1, S Lynch 0-1, J Buckley, A Sheedy, J Burke, J Sheedy 0-5f Subs: N Barry for J Buckley, E O’Regan for J Burke, C McCarthy for P Fitzgerald., S Cronin for A Sheedy
REFEREE: Ciarán O’Regan (Ballyhea)

Buttevant 2-16

Ballyclough 0-14

Buttevant had an eight point win over Ballyclough in the Hibernian Hotel JAHC at Churchtown on Sunday.

From the start the winners dominated and helped by an early goal by Gavin Carey they led all through. Mark Lenahan had the opening score with Gavin Carey having his goal in the fifth minute after good play by Michael O’Neill and Mark Lenahan.

Tadhg Healy opened Ballyclough’s account. Chris O’Toole pointed for the winners. Good play by Jamie O’Brien led to a Mikey O’Callaghan point for Ballyclough. Both sides exchanged points. By the first water break Buttevant were 1-7 to 0-5 ahead.

Thomas O’Neill with two good points on the restart cut the lead to a goal. Chris O’Toole and Gavin Carey replied for Buttevant as they led 1-9 to 0-7. Mark Lenahan with a free opened up a six point lead. By half time Buttevant were six points clear 1- 11 to 0-8.

On the changeover both sides swapped points with Buttevant 1-13 to 0-13 clear by the second water break.

Just when Ballyclough seemed likely to force level it was Buttevant who struck for their second goal when Michael O’Neill gave a very good pass to Mark Lenahan who made it 2-13 to 0-13.

Buttevant had three late points by Chris O’Toole, David Walsh and Mark Lenahan (free) while Ballyclough had a late pointed free by Thomas O’Neill.

BUTTEVANT: C Cole, S Madigan, J Whelan, N O’Riordan, K Lenahan, J Buckley, M O’Connell, M O’Neill 0-1, J O’Brien, D Walsh 0-1, M Lenahan 1-8 (0-6f), C O’Toole (0- 4) K Bowles, G Carey 1-2, S O’Callaghan Subs: K O’Keeffe for M O’Connell, C Kennedy for N O’Riordan.

BALLYCLOUGH: C O’Neill, B O’Neill, D O’Neill, T Ducey, D Finnegan, E Kelleher, C Duffy 0-1, M Buckley, S Buckley, D Ludgate, D Buckley, T Healy 0-1, K McDonnell, T O’Neill 0-10 (0-7f. 0-1 ‘65), M O’Callaghan 0-1 Subs: R Buckley 0-1 for D Buckley (blood) D Buckley for R Buckley, A Cronin for K McDonnell, E O’Connor for B O’Neill
REFEREE: Dwane Collins (Charleville)

Most Related Links :
todayuknews Governmental News Finance News

Source link

Back to top button
Native News Post