Who are the MSPs standing down at the Holyrood election?


ore than a quarter of Holyrood’s MSPs are not seeking re-election to the Scottish Parliament this year.

A total of 34 of the 129 members in the last Parliament are not standing for re-election on May 6, and they include three former party leaders and four current Government ministers.

Here, the PA news agency looks at some of the most notable names who have chosen to leave Parliament.

The current Health Secretary has only been an MSP since 2016 but has become one of the most high-profile Government ministers in the response to the coronavirus pandemic.

The MSP for Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley would be 72 by the end of the next parliamentary term and as she announced her retirement, she said: “While I have a great deal of energy left and more I want to do, I think it is the right time for me to stand aside.”

NHS 70th anniversary / PA Archive

One of Holyrood’s original MSPs first elected after the Scottish Parliament’s creation in 1999, Mr Russell has served in various ministerial roles, including education, culture and the environment.

Most recently, he has been responsible for the Scottish Government’s response – and often opposition – to the UK Government’s Brexit plans.

Another departing Government minister, the Environment Secretary was previously a minister for fair work and community safety.

The Perth and Kinross MSP was the SNP deputy leader between 2000 and 2004, and ran against Alex Salmond when he was elected party leader that year.

First elected to the Scottish Parliament in 1999, Ms Fabiani initially represented the Central Scotland region until 2011 when she was elected as the MSP for East Kilbride.

Most Related Links :
todayuknews Governmental News Finance News

Source link

Back to top button